The other day, I was thinking about a lesson that most of us learn in our early years of schooling: don’t judge a book by its cover.  And it simply means that appearances are not everything.

At the moment when I plug in my phone to charge it at night, I can’t see  cities getting more polluted, children suffering from asthma, desert regions spreading, and sea levels rising.  When I throw my trash away, I can’t see the factories from which the packaging came or where this packaging is going.  When I buy a tomato at Star Market, I can’t see the pesticides that were used for mass production or the truck driver delivering this tomato from hundreds of miles away.

It’s about time we see the hidden costs of our cheap consumption driven life style.  We need to stop judging by appearances and start judging justly.  Appearances are not everything.  Even though it takes little effort to plug in that phone, toss that wrapper in to the garbage, or pick up a tomato and pay for it, the environmental degradation resulting from used resources is impacting people at home and in communities all over the globe.

I realize that most of those in the Leadership Campaign realize the urgency in all of this, and for that I am grateful.  But, I also understand that many of our neighbors, most of our political leaders, and much of society does not.  So what does this mean?  Well, even though the semester is coming to a close, we’ve still got lots of work to do.  Find a way to continue spreading the truth this summer by making your environmental enthusiasm a part of your life and never lose the drive that has gotten us this far.  Let’s get to it!

